The Notorious B.I.G., Whitney Houston and the Nine Inch Nails Are Among This Year’s Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees

Photo by: Lori Shepler / Los Angeles Times

Pop powerhouse Whitney Houston, industrial rockers Nine Inch Nails and beloved rapper the Notorious B.I.G. will be among the 35th class of inductees into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame when the ceremony takes place on May 2 of this year in Ohio. Joining the aforementioned on the 2020 inductees list are Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, and T-Rex.

The inducted musicians were chosen from a long-list that included Pat Benatar, Dave Matthews Band, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Motörhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden and Thin Lizzy.

Houston will become only the 70th woman added to the HoF’s current 888 members, and B.I.G. joins a lean list of rappers including Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five, Run-DMC, the Beastie Boys, Public Enemy, N.W.A. and Tupac Shakur. In addition to the musical inductees, the Ahmet Ertegun Award for Lifetime Achievement (formerly called the “non-performers” award) will be handed out to music manager Irving Azoff and critic, manager and producer Jon Landau.

The 35th Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 2, 2020 at Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio. This is the first year that the ceremony will be broadcast live, so be sure to tune in to HBO to watch the festivities.